My Morning Jacket preview four songs from new album ‘The Waterfall’ – watch

Band release their seventh record in May

My Morning Jacket have previewed six new songs from their next album in a behind-the-scenes clip posted online.

The video, titled ‘Under The Waterfall’, features snippets of songs called ‘Spring (Among the Living)’, ‘Compound Fracture’, ‘Believe (Nobody Knows)’ and ‘Get the Point’, as well as the previously-released lead single ‘Big Decisions’. Watch the video below.


The album, forthcoming on ATO/Capitol Records, is due for release on May 4. It’s My Morning Jacket’s first LP since 2011’s ‘Circuital’ and the first of two albums they have planned for release before the end of 2016.

‘The Waterfall’ was recorded in late 2013 at North California’s Stinson Beach. In a statement, frontman Jim James said: “For me, every record has the spirit of where we made it. Stinson Beach was so psychedelic and focused. It was almost like we lived on our own little moon out there. It feels like you’re up in the sky.”

The band teamed up once again with producer/engineer Tucker Martine for ‘The Waterfall’, who also worked with them on ‘Circuital’.

The Jim James-led group have also announced four UK and Ireland dates as part of their world tour including a slot at this year’s End Of The Road festival.

My Morning Jacket play the following UK and Ireland dates:

Dublin Electric Picnic Festival (September 4)
End Of The Road Festival (5)
Manchester The Ritz (6)
London Shepherd’s Bush Empire (7)


The tracklisting for ‘The Waterfall’ is as follows:

‘Believe (Nobody Knows)’
‘Compound Fracture’
‘Like A River’
‘In Its Infancy (The Waterfall)’
‘Get The Point’
‘Spring (Among The Living)’
‘Thin Line’
‘Big Decisions’
‘Tropics (Erase Traces)’
‘Only Memories Remain’