Neil Young records anti-war protest album

And he lays into President Bush on it

Neil Young has recorded an anti-war protest album on which he reportedly lashes out at US President George W Bush.

The veteran rocker has recorded a track called ‘Impeach The President’, which will appear on his ten-track LP ‘Living With War’, due out later this year. On his official website, Young referred to the music as being like that of the protest songs of Phil Ochs and Bob Dylan, calling it “metal folk protest”.

Young also revealed that he recorded the ten-track album earlier this month with his band – Chad Cromwell on drums, Rick Rosas on bass and Tommy Bray on trumpet.

A 100-strong choir also features on the record, the follow-up to 2005’s ‘Prairie Wind’.

No lyrics have been disclosed yet for ‘Impeach the President’, but the album’s title track features lines like: “I’m living with war everyday/I’m living with war in my heart everyday/I’m living with war right now/And when the dawn breaks I see my fellow men/And on the flat screen we kill and we’re killed again.”

Young has dabbled in politics in the past – he, along with Crosby, Stills and Nash, recorded the track ‘Ohio’ in 1970 in protest at the shooting dead of four students protesting against the Vietnam War at Kent State University.

In 1989, he recorded another acclaimed protest anthem, ‘Rockin’ In The Free World’.

No release date has been set for the record yet. Young will be revealing more details gradually via his website.