Neil Young and Jack White to collaborate on covers album?

Album allegedly recorded at White's Third Man studio and will be out this spring

Neil Young and Jack White have reportedly worked together on an album of covers.

Two different news sources claim the artists have finished the album, which is said to include songs by their favourite songwriters. Journalist Michael Goldberg said he had “confirmed” the story writing on his blog, saying that Young had recorded an album at Jack White’s Third Man studios in Nashville.

According to Goldberg, Young didn’t just use White’s studio, they made the “entire album together”, with a prospective tracklist featuring Bob Dylan‘s ‘Blowin’ In The Wind’, Tim Hardin’s ‘Reason To Believe’, Gordon Lightfoot’s ‘Early Morning Rain’ and Ivory Joe Hunter’s ‘Since I Met You Baby’ as well as ‘Needle Of Death’, originally by the late Bert Jansch, a song which Young covered last year. The reports were later echoed on Neil Young fansite Thrasher’s Wheat.


Both reports speculate that the album is a co-release by Young’s label, Warner Bros, and White’s Third Man Records. Earlier this month, Jack White said he was currently working on two different albums. “I’m producing two records this month, and finishing them,” he wrote in an online chat. “One of them is mine.”

White released his debut solo album ‘Blunderbuss’ in 2012, and recently released a new single with his band The Dead Weather. Young, meanwhile, is currently on tour playing benefit concerts in opposition to the Alberta tar sands.