But the awards ceremony doesn't even take place...

NELLY has been named artist of the year and his album ‘COUNTRY GRAMMAR’ album of the year in the fifth annual ONLINE HIPHOP AWARDS.

He was joined as a winner by Def Jam which took favourite record label, while the label’s Ja Rule took the awards for song and favourite R&B/hiphop collaboration of the year for ‘Put it On Me’. All winners were selected by fans.

However the actual ceremony did not place. Originally slated for May 3 at the Manhattan Center Grand Ballroom in New York, the ceremony was postponed due to security problems. It had been hoped that a new date could be found for the summer, but organisers released a statement yesterday (May 31) making it clear it would not go ahead.


“Over the last four weeks, as we’ve examined the possibilities of re-organising, it became evident that a summer show would also not be possible. Inevitably, it was a combination of timing and current market conditions that contributed to our final decision to cancel,” they said.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Best Artist Website:

Favourite Record Label: Def Jam Records

Favourite Web Magazine/E-zine:

Best New Website:


Website Of The Year:

Outstanding Graphic Design:

Online Hiphop Award Of The Year: Russell Simmons (for

Favourite Music Video: Mystikal, ‘Shake Ya Ass’

Favourite New Artist (solo, duo, or group): Lil Bow Wow

Producer Of The Year: The Neptunes

Artist Of The Year (solo, duo, or group): Nelly

Song Of The Year: Ja Rule, ‘Put it On Me’

Album Of The Year: Nelly, ‘Country Grammar’

Favourite Fashion Designer/Label: FUBU

Favourite R&B/Hiphop Collaboration: Ja Rule, Lil Mo, and Vita, ‘Put it On Me’

Best Elements Website:

Best Indie Website: