Bonobo announces new album, ‘Migration’

It'll be Simon Green's first album since 2013's 'The North Borders'

Bonobo has officially announced his new album, ‘Migration’.

The Brighton electronic musician, real name Simon Green, last released a full-length LP in March 2013 – ‘The North Borders’, his fifth studio album, featured collaborations with Erykah Badu and Amsterdam via East London artist Szjerdene.

Out via Ninja Tune, ‘Migration’ will be released on January 13 2017, and is available for pre-order now. The producer has collaborated with four artists for the new album, including Nick Murphy, who formerly made music under the name Chet Faker.


Speaking about the new album, Green revealed the special meaning behind its title. “My own personal idea of identity has played into this record and the theme of migration. It’s interesting how one person will take an influence from one part of the world and move with that influence and affect another part of the world. Over time, the identities of places evolve.” (via FACT)

As well as the album announcement, the lead single for Bonobo’s next project has also been released. Listen to ‘Kerala’, which features a vocal sample of Brandy, below.

See the tracklist of ‘Migration’ below.

1. Migration
2. Break Apart (feat. Rhye)
3. Outlier
4. Grains
5. Second Sun
6. Surface (feat. Nicole Miglis)
7. Bambro Koyo Ganda (feat. Innov Gnawa)
8. Kerala
9. Ontario
10. No Reason (feat. Nick Murphy)
11. 7th Sevens
12. Figures