Smashing Pumpkins reunion line-up reportedly revealed in leaked photos

The pictures seem to confirm who will join Billy Corgan in the next era of the band

The line-up for Smashing Pumpkins‘ reunion appears to have been revealed in leaked photos.

Frontman Billy Corgan has been teasing a new album from the band and a return of the classic line-up, which featured James Iha on guitar, Jimmy Chamberlin on drums, and D’Arcy Wretzky on bass.

Wretzky recently confirmed that she will have no part in the new record, saying it was “a huge disappointment” for her, but the band had “decided to go with a different bass player.” Her statement came after Corgan, Iha and Chamberlin were pictured in the studio together. Wretzky also suggested the new line-up would tour this summer, but there has been no official confirmation of this at present.


Now, leaked photos from a new shoot appear to show the line-up for Smashing Pumpkins’ new era. They show the three remaining members from the band’s classic line-up alongside Jeff Schroeder, who joined the group in 2007. It has been speculated that guitarist Schroeder could turn bassist after being pictured playing the instrument in the studio, as Alternative Nation notes.

Previously, Iha made three guest appearances with the Pumpkins in 2016, but has not recorded with the band since 2000’s ‘Machina/The Machines Of God‘. Chamberlin rejoined the group as a touring member in 2015, and last appeared on 2007’s ‘Zeitgeist‘.

Corgan revealed last month that Rick Rubin would be producing the band’s new record in a lengthy Instagram post. “We are currently in the studio with Rick Rubin,” he said within the message. “But unless I show you a picture of Rick sitting Buddha-like at a mixing desk, you probably wouldn’t know that.”