New song by Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter to feature on soundtrack for controversial film, ‘Climax’

Bangalter has written a song called 'Sangria' for the stomach-churning movie

Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter is one of several artists announced for the Climax soundtrack.

Bangalter, who has written a new song called ‘Sangria’ for the film, joins Aphex Twin, Giorgio Moroder, and Soft Cell in contributing to the 18-song soundtrack.

Daft Punk’s previously released record, ‘Rollin’ & Scratchin’, is also included on the soundtrack.


The film, which is directed by Argentine filmmaker Gaspar Noé, details a dance party that erupts into chaos.

Noé’s 2002 film Irreversible was the notorious cause of fainting fits at Cannes Film Festival. That year, Bangalter defended the film’s controversial 9-minute rape scene to NME.

He said: “Yeah it’s unbearable, it’s horrible, but Gaspard is everything but a fascist. It’s violent all the way, but, to me, free violence is when you accept it more and more.

“Here you are in front of something where you can’t accept it and you can’t support it, which is pretty much like how violence is when it’s real and happening to you.”

Climax, which also screened at the 2018 Cannes Film Festival, is said to feature similarly bilious scenes – this time of self-mutilation and orgiastic sex.

Bangalter previously worked with Noé on Irreversible as well as the director’s 2009 film, Enter the Void.


The CD version of the film soundtrack arrives on September 28 with the 2xLP vinyl following on October 5 (both via Milan Records).

Climax is released in French cinemas on September 19 and UK cinemas on September 21.

Climax OST:

1. Cerrone: ‘Supernature (Instrumental Climax Edit)’
2. Patrick Hernandez: ‘Born to Be Alive (Instrumental New Version)’
3. M/A/R/R/S: ‘Pump up the Volume (USA Radio Edit)’
4. Dopplereffekt: ‘Superior Race’
5. Chris Carter: ‘Solidit (Climax Edit)’
6. Dopplereffekt: ‘Technic 1200’
7. Kiddy Smile: ‘Dickmatized’
8. Thomas Bangalter: ‘What to Do?’
9. Thomas Bangalter: ‘Sangria’
10. Neon: ‘Voices’
11. Suburban Knights: ‘The World’s’
12. Aphex Twin: ‘Windowlicker’
13. Wild Planet: ‘Electron’
14. Soft Cell: ‘Tainted Love/Where Did Our Love Go (Extended)’
15. Giorgio Moroder: ‘Utopia – Me Giorgio’
16. Thibaut Barbillon: ‘Angie (Instrumental Cover)’
17. CoH Plays Cosey: ‘Mad’
18. Gary Numan: ‘Trois Gymnopedies (First Movement)’