Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds will release a career-spanning compilation in the UK on May 11...

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds are set to release a career-spanning compilation album, ‘The Best Of Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds’, available through Mute Records in UK stores on May 11.

The album traces the group’s history and its track-listing was chosen by Nick Cave and the band. Songs featured include ‘Deanna’, ‘Red Right Hand’, ‘Straight To You’, ‘Tupelo’, ‘Into My Arms’, ‘Where The Wild Roses Grow’ and ‘The Ship Song’ amongst others. A special, limited edition format of the album will be also be released, details of which will be available soon.

Cave is also currently lining up UK summer festival appearances, including a major slot at Glastonbury (June 26-28). Meanwhile, Nick has told NME he’s in the early stages of writing material for his next album which, he says, will continue the themes of ‘The Boatman’s Call’, his most recent album.


“I’m interested in writing songs that mean something to me and will continue to mean something to me,” he says. “The ‘Murder Ballads’ LP has its meaning to me in that Kylie (Minogue) was involved in it and Polly (Harvey) was involved in it… it was an incredible time and a lot of my dreams were realised in the making of that record, but there’s no emotional commitment to those songs. They’re kind of meaningless to me in a way. They’re enjoyable to listen to and they’re funny – but they don’t really mean that much to me, whereas ‘The Boatman’s Call’ does.”

Meanwhile, Henry Rollins is pressing ahead with plans to release a compilation album, via his Thirsty Ear record label, featuring material from Cave’s previous band The Birthday Party. Rollins’ plans have it scheduled for release by the end of the year.

You May Like