The compilation features the last song the tragic star ever committed to tape...

The final details of an album of NICK DRAKE rarities and remixes has been confirmed.

Released on May 24, the album will feature the last song the singer ever committed to tape before his death in 1974 – ‘Tow The Line’.

‘Made To Love Magic’ will also include mainly alternative versions of some of the cult singer’s classic songs.


As previously reported on NME.COM, ‘Tow The Line’ is similar in style to the tracks on Drake’s notoriously sparse final LP, 1972’s ‘Pink Moon’. Just over two minutes in length, and contains the lyric: “If you call we will follow/if you show us we can tow the line”.

‘Made To Love Magic’ also includes a solo ‘River Man’ and a five-minute rendition of ‘Three Hours’ among its gems.

Drake made three albums for Island before his death in 1974 from an overdose of antidepressants aged just 26. Since then he has gained a massive cult following.

The full tracklisting of ‘Made To Love Magic’ is:

‘Rider On The Wheel’



‘River Man’


‘Thoughts Of Mary Jane’


‘Hanging On A Star’

‘Three Hours’

‘Clothes Of Sand’


‘Time Of No Reply’

‘Black Eyed Dog’

‘Tow The Line’