Nikka Costa announces new album details

'Pebble To A Pearl' is out in September

Nikka Costa has announced details of her second album, ‘Pebble To A Pearl’, scheduled to be released in September.

The album is the follow- up to 2005’s ‘Can’tneverdidnothin’, and was recorded over 14 days at Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles. It was produced by Justin Stanley who’s previously worked with Jamie Lidell and Beck, and Costa enlisted an impressive cast of musicians to play on the album including drummer James Gadson who has collaborated with Al Green, Bill Withers and Stevie Wonder.

The record will be released on her own Go Funk Yourself Records in conjunction with Stax Records.

Costa’s 2001 debut ‘Everybody Got Their Something’ was produced by Mark Ronson, and she has toured with the likes of with Prince, Lenny Kravitz, Coldplay and Beck.

The track listing is:

‘Stuck to You’

‘Can’t Please Everyone’

‘Pebble to a Pearl’

‘Someone for Everyone’

‘Cry Baby’

‘Keep Wanting More’

‘Keep Pushin’

‘Love to Love You Less’

‘Without Love’

‘Damn I Said It First’

‘Loving You’

‘Bullets in the Sky’

Meanwhile, Costa will preview her new material at two special shows in Los Angeles and New York.

The dates are:

Los Angeles, CA El Rey (June 27)

New York, NY Bowery Ballroom (30)

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.