Listen to Nina Simone’s classic ‘Little Girl Blue’ LP, remixed

Nina Simone's 1958 debut receives official remix treatment from emerging electronic producers

Nina Simone’s classic album ‘Little Girl Blue’ is being re-released as an official remix album, it has emerged.

Simone’s debut 1958 album – originally released through jazz imprint Bethlehem Records – set the benchmark for female singers and pianists, and included her most famed hits including ‘Central Park Blues’, ‘My Baby Just Cares For Me’ and ‘African Mailman’.

DJ Maestro has compiled and mixed a collection of remixes from contemporary electronic artists who are inspired by jazz music and structure. Gramaphondzie, Smoove, Rebel and Mees Dierdorp have all contributed remixes to the official album, which is released on April 22nd through Soundplate Records in the UK. You can listen to a handful of tracks from the collection in the SoundCloud player below – scroll to the bottom of the article for the full tracklist.


The album comes as a breath of fresh air for fans of the late singer and pianist, as controversy surrounds the upcoming release of an Nina Simone biopic.

Nina – looking at the life of the immortal soul singer – was recently teased with a brand new trailer. Zoe Saldana stars as Nina in the gritty depiction of the singer’s life, which has been marred in setbacks and backlash – including criticism from Nina Simone’s daughter about lead Actress Zoe Saldana’s apparent use of make up and prosthetics to portray Simone’s likeness.

According to Fact, the long awaited biographical film suffered a release date set back, but is now confirmed to open in cinemas in the US on April 22. You can watch the official teaser trailer below.

Read More: Nina Simone film’s ‘Blackface’ criticism branded as a relic of slavery by distributor


The film had originally been slated for a December 2015 release. Scripted and directed by Cynthia Mort, the biopic is based on Simone’s 1992 autobiography I Put A Spell On You. Mary J Blige was linked to the title role back in 2010, but is said to have moved on following funding difficulties, and Saldana was then cast in 2012.

Saldana, 37, is best known for her roles as Anamaria in the second Pirates Of The Caribbean movie and Uhuru in the 2009 Star Trek film. She also portrays a Na’vi called Neytiri in James Cameron’s Avatar.


01 Plain Gold Ring (Mop Mop Rework)

02 My Baby Just Cares For Me (The Reflex Re-Edition)

03 Mood Indigo (Renegades Of Jazz Remix)

]04 Little Girl Blue (Maestro Remix)

05 Love Me Or Leave Me (Suonho Relove)

06 African Mailman (The Rebel Remix)

07 I Loves You Porgy (Mees Dierdorp Remix)

08 My Baby Just Cares For Me (Maestro Vs Gabriel & Castellon Remix)

09 African Mailman (Opolopo Remix)

10 Plain Gold Ring (Fab Samperi Remix)

11 He Needs Me (Gramophonedzie remix)

12 Love Me Or Leave Me ( Gabriel & Castellon Vs Maestro Remix)

13 African Mailman (Smoove Remix)

14 Central Park Blues (Monte’s Midnight Mix)

You May Like