Nine Inch Nails and more join Zack de la Rocha’s Arizona boycott

Acts unite to protest against the US state's controversial new immigration law

Nine Inch Nails, My Morning Jacket and Gogol Bordello are among the latest batch of names who have joined the campaign to boycott Arizona.

Launched by Rage Against The Machine singer Zack de la Rocha, the group are protesting a controversial new immigration law which allows police in Arizona to challenge anybody they suspect of being an illegal immigrant to prove their status officially. Failure to do so will result in arrest.

Named The Sound Strike, the protest group has a petition set up at

Writing in on the site, de la Rocha outlined his reasons for forming the group.

“Some of us grew up dealing with racial profiling, but this law (SB 1070) takes it to a whole new low,” he wrote. “If other states follow the direction of the Arizona government, we could be headed towards a pre-civil rights era reality. This unjust law was set into motion by the same Arizona government that refused to acknowledge Martin Luther King Jr day as a national holiday.”

As previously reported, the likes of Massive Attack, Sonic Youth and Kanye West had already confirmed their support for the campaign.

The list of acts who have signed up to support the group already are:

Cypress Hill
Conor Oberst
Los Tigres del Norte
Rage Against The Machine
Cafe Tacvba
Micheal Moore
Kanye West
Calle 13
Joe Satriani
Serj Tankian
Rise Against
Sabertooth Tiger
Massive Attack
One Day as a Lion
Street Sweeper Social Club
Spank Rock
Sonic Youth
Tenacious D
Chris Rock
Maroon 5
Gogol Bordello
My Morning Jacket
Ben Harper
Ry Cooder
Steve Earle
Billy Bragg
Sweet Honey And The Rock
Throwing Muses
State Radio
Aztlan Underground
DJ Spooky