Full details of 'With The Lights Out' are here...

The full tracklisting of the long-awaited NIRVANA box set ‘WITH THE LIGHTS OUT’ has been published.

Released on November 22, the four-disc set will feature 81 tracks, including 68 previously unreleased recordings – rehearsals, outtakes, Kurt’s home demos, as well as a DVD which is confirmed to have unreleased band home movies, live footage, rehearsal footage and 20 full-length video performances.

A 60-page booklet will accompany the release, with sleevenotes penned by [a][/a] frontman Thurston Moore.

The songs in the box set are:

‘Heartbreaker’(live, 1987)

‘Anorexorcist’ (radio performance, 1987)

‘White, Lace And Strange’(radio performance, 1987)

‘Help Me I’m Hungry’ (radio performance, 1987)

‘Mrs Butterworth’ (rehearsal, 1988)

‘If You Must’ (demo)

‘Pen Cap Chew’ (demo, 1988)

‘Downer’ (live, 1988)

‘Floyd The Barber’ (live, 1988)

‘Raunchola’ (live, 1988)

‘Moby Dick’ (live, 1988)

‘Beans’ (demo)

‘Don’t Want It All’ (demo)

‘Clean Up Before She Comes’ (demo)

‘Polly’ (solo demo)

‘About A Girl’ (demo)

‘Blandest’ (demo)

‘Dive’ (demo, 1988)

‘They Hung Him On A Cross’ (demo, 1989)

‘Grey Goose’ (demo, 1989)

‘Ain’t It A Shame’ (demo, 1989)

‘Token Eastern Song’ (demo, 1989)

‘Even In His Youth’ (demo, 1989)

‘Polly’ (demo, 1989)

CD 2:

’Opinion’ (solo acoustic, 1989)

’Lithium’ (solo acoustic, 1990)

’Been A Son’ (solo acoustic, 1990)

’Sliver’ (home demo)

’Where Did You Sleep Last Night’ (home demo)

’Pay To Play’(demo, 1990)

’Here She Comes Now’ (demo, 1990)

’Drain You’ (demo, 1990)

’Aneurysm’ (demo, 1990)

’Smells Like Teen Spirit’ (demo, 1991)

’Breed’ (alternative mix)

’Verse Chorus Verse’ (outtake)

’Old Age’ (outtake, 1991)

’Endless, Nameless’ (radio session)

’Dumb’ (radio session)

’D-7’ (radio session)

’Oh The Guilt’ (B-side)

’Curmudgeon’ (B-side)

‘Return Of The Rat’ (B-side)

‘Smells Like Teen Spirit (Butch Vig Mix, 1991)’

CD 3:

‘Rape Me (solo)’

‘Rape Me’ (demo)

‘Scentless Apprentice’ (demo, 1992)

‘Heart Shaped Box’ (demo, 1993)

‘I Hate Myself And I Want To Die’ (compilation track)

‘Milk It’ (demo)

‘Moist Vagina’ (demo)

‘Gallons Of Running Alcohol Flows Through The Strip’ (B-side)

‘The Other Improv’ (demo, 1993)

‘Serve The Servants’ (solo acoustic)

‘Very Ape’ (solo acoustic)

‘Pennyroyal Tea’ (solo acoustic, 1993)

‘Marigold’ (B-side)

‘Sappy, aka Verse Chorus Verse’ (previously unreleased)

‘Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For A Sunbeam’ (demo, 1994)

‘Do Re Mi’ (solo acoustic, 1994)

‘You Know You’re Right’ (solo acoustic, 1994)

‘All Apologies’ (solo acoustic)


‘Love Buzz’


‘About A Girl’

‘Big Long Now’

‘Immigrant Song’

‘Spank Thru’

‘Hairspray Queen’


‘Mr Moustache’

‘Big Cheese’

‘In Bloom’



‘Love Buzz’

‘Pennyroyal Tea’

‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’

‘Territorial Pissings’

‘Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For A Sunbeam’

‘Talk To Me’

‘Seasons In The Sun’