This week’s releases: 19 July 2009

Albums and singles released in the UK today

Kid British and The Leisure Society release new albums today (July 20), alongside Sigur RosJon Birgisson and Alex Somers, whose ‘Riceboy Sleeps’ also hits shelves.

All are up against a compilation of Michael Jackson‘s five studio albums for Sony, re-released in a box set called ‘Collection’ in the wake of the star’s untimely death last month.

In the singles world, Doves release ‘Winter Hill’, while Wild Beasts return with ‘Hooting And Howling’. MPHO and Django Django also unleash new singles, and the Beastie Boys release a 12″ of ‘Too Many Rappers’.

Albums released today:

Ginuwine – ‘A Mans Thoughts’
Jonsi & Alex (Sigur Ros) – ‘Riceboy Sleeps’
Jordin Sparks – ‘Battlefield’
Kid British – ‘It Was This Or Football (First Half)’
Michael Jackson – ‘Collection’
Sugar Ray – ‘Music For Cougars’
The Leisure Society – ‘Sleeper’

Singles released today:

Beastie Boys – ‘Too Many Rappers’
Django Django – ‘Storm’
Doves – ‘Winter Hill’
Fiery Furnaces – ‘End Is Near’
Fightstar – ‘Never Change’
Frankmusik – ‘Confusion Girl’
Mando Diao – ‘Mean Street EP’
MPHO – ‘Box N Locks’
Wild Beasts – ‘Hooting And Howling’