From The Velvet Underground to Oasis – new NME compliation launches

'NME Classics' boasts the best tracks and artists 70s, 80s, 90s

A new 3CD compilation entitled ‘NME Classics’, featuring 61 classic songs from the ’70s, ’80s and ’90s, has gone on sale today (March 10).

The CD, compiled by NME with EMI, features tracks through the years from the likes of Blondie, David Bowie, The Clash, New Order, Radiohead and Pulp, offering a timeline of modern music from The Beatles through glam rock, punk, indie and Britpop.

The album features pictures and magazine cover images from the NME archives chosen by NME staff, plus notes about the songs written by Live Editor Hamish MacBain.

The full tracklisting is:

Disc: 1

The MC5 – ‘Kick Out The Jams’

The Velvet Underground – ‘I’m Waiting For The Man’

The Stooges – ‘No Fun’

The Doors – ‘LA Woman’

The New York Dolls – ‘Jet Boy’

Patti Smith – ‘Gloria’

The Damned – ‘Neat Neat Neat’

X-Ray Spex – ‘Oh Bondage Up Yours!’

Richard Hell And The Voidoids – ‘(I Belong To The) Blank Generation’

Dead Boys – ‘Sonic Reducer’

Iggy Pop – ‘Lust For Life’

The Saints – ‘This Perfect Day’

The Ramones – ‘Sheena Is A Punk Rocker’

The Only Ones – ‘Another Girl, Another Planet’

Siouxsie And The Banshees – ‘Hong Kong Garden’

Blondie – ‘One Way Or Another’

Magazine – ‘Shot By Both Sides’

Buzzcocks – ‘Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve)?’

XTC – ‘This Is Pop?’

Television – ‘Marquee Moon’

David Bowie – ‘Heroes’

Disc: 2

The Clash – ‘I Fought The Law’

Stiff Little Fingers – ‘Suspect Device’

The Jam – ‘Going Underground’

The Vapors – ‘Turning Japanese’

Generation X – ‘Kiss Me Deadly’

The Pretenders – ‘Brass In Pocket’

The Selecter – ‘On My Radio’

The Beat – ‘Mirror In The Bathroom’

Madness – ‘One Step Beyond’

Bad Manners – ‘Special Brew’

The Specials – ‘Ghost Town’

The Cure – ‘The Lovecats’

Talking Heads – ‘Psycho Killer (Live)’

Kraftwerk – ‘Tour De France’

Malcolm McLaren – ‘Buffalo Gals’

New Order – ‘Blue Monday’

Echo And The Bunnymen – ‘The Back Of Love’

Aztec Camera – ‘Walk Out To Winter’

The Jesus And Mary Chain – ‘Just Like Honey’

Prince – ‘Sign O’ The Times’

Joy Division – ‘Atmosphere’

Disc: 3

Morrissey – ‘Suedehead’

The Stone Roses – ‘She Bangs The Drums’

Happy Mondays – ‘Step On’

Inspiral Carpets – ‘This Is How It Feels’

Depeche Mode – ‘Enjoy The Silence’

Orbital – ‘Chime’

Massive Attack – ‘Unfinished Sympathy’

Primal Scream – ‘Movin’ On Up’

Suede – ‘Animal Nitrate’

Oasis – ‘Live Forever’

REM – ‘What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?’

Ash – ‘Girl From Mars’

Supergrass – ‘Caught By The Fuzz’

Radiohead – ‘Just’

Pulp – ‘Common People’

The Chemical Brothers – ‘Setting Sun’

Blur – ‘Song 2’

Manic Street Preachers – ‘A Design For Life’

The Verve – ‘Bitter Sweet Symphony’

See the NME.COM store for more information.