NME release second essential compilation

The follow-up to 2005’s best-selling CD is out now

NME is set to release its second compilation, following the success of 2005’s record-breaking collection.

‘NME Presents: The Essential Bands 2006’ picks 40 of the hottest bands from the last year, including The Killers, Razorlight, Arctic Monkeys, The Kooks, The Fratellis and The Automatic.

Last year’s ‘NME Presents…’ was the best-selling indie compilation retail CD of 2005.

NME Editor Conor McNicholas said: “With guitar bands taking over the charts, ’NME Essential Bands’ has become the must-buy album for Christmas. The 2006 edition reflects an amazing year for quality music and, better still, the line-up is 75% British!”

The tracklisting is as follows:


The Killers – ‘When You Were Young’

Razorlight – ‘America’

The Automatic – ‘Monster’

The Fratellis – ‘Chelsea Dagger’

Arctic Monkeys – ‘When The Sun Goes Down (Live)’

Dirty Pretty Things – ‘Bang Bang, You’re Dead’

The Ordinary Boys – ‘Lonely At The Top’

Boy Kill Boy – ‘Suzie‘

Kaiser Chiefs – ‘You Can Have It All (Ian Broudie Remix)’

Franz Ferdinand – ‘The Fallen’

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Gold Lion’

Feeder – ‘Lost And Found’

The Rakes – ‘22 Grand Job’

The Maccabees – ‘X-Ray’

The Marshals – ‘Make Her Cry’

The Rapture – ‘Get Myself Into It’

New Young Pony Club – ‘Ice Cream’

Dogs – ‘London Bridge’

Wolfmother – ‘Woman’

Little Man Tate – ‘House Party At Boothy’s’


Snow Patrol – ‘Chasing Cars’

Keane – ‘Is It Any Wonder’

The Kooks – ‘She Moves In Her Own Way’

Guillemots – ‘Trains To Brazil’

Thom Yorke – ‘Harrowdown Hill’

The Charlatans – ‘Blackened Blue Eyes’

Babyshambles – ‘Albion’

Embrace – ‘Nature’s Law’

Bloc Party – ‘So Here We Are’

Bedouin Soundclash – ‘When The Night Feels My Song’

Patrick Wolf – ‘Accident & Emergency’

Peter Bjorn & John – ‘Young Folks’

The Dears – ‘Ticket To Immortality’

Bell X1 – ‘Rocky Took A Lover’

Joyzipper – ‘1’

Just Jack – ‘Writer’s Block’

The Cribs – ‘You’re Gonna Lose Us’

Milburn – ‘Send In The Boys’

Cord – ‘Sea Of Trouble’

Scott Matthews – ‘Elusive’

The double CD package is released today (November 13).