Bands gear up for ‘Essential’ CD

Killers, Razorlight, Kooks all sign up for new NME compilation

Can’t decide which album you’re going to buy your mate for Christmas? Want to rationalise your record collection into one handy CD? Or do you just simply you want all the best songs of 2006 in one place?

Whatever your musical dilemma, you’re in luck as ‘NME Presents The Essential Bands’ is out today (November 13), and collects together all the best tracks from this year in a handy, double album-sized package.

From The Automatic’s mage anthem ‘Monster’ through The Killers to the likes of Franz Ferdinand, Kaiser Chiefs and Peter, Bjorn & John‘s mega tune ‘Young Folk’, all the best tunes of 2006 are on it – and it is available in all good record shops now.


The tracklisting for ‘NME Presents The Essential Bands’ is as follows:


The Killers – ‘When You Were Young’

Razorlight – ‘America’

The Automatic – ‘Monster’

The Fratellis – ‘Chelsea Dagger’


Kasabian – ‘Empire’

Arctic Monkeys – ‘When The Sun Goes Down’ (live)

Dirty Pretty Things – ‘Bang Bang You’re Dead’

The Ordinary Boys – ‘Lonely At The Top’

Boy Kill Boy – ‘Suzie’

Kaiser Chiefs – ‘You Can Have It All’ (Ian Brodie Remix)

Franz Ferdinand – ‘The Fallen’

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Gold Lion’

Feeder – ‘Lost And Found’

The Rakes – ‘22 Grand Job’

The Maccabees – ‘X-Ray’

The Marshalls – ‘Make Her Cry’

The Rapture – ‘Get Myself Into It’

New Young Pony Club – ‘Ice Cream’

Dogs – ‘London Bridge’

Wolfmother – ‘Woman’

Little Man Tate – ‘House Party At Boothy’s’


Snow Patrol – ‘Chasing Cars’

Keane – ‘Is It Any Wonder’

The Kooks – ‘Naïve’

Guillemots – ‘Trains To Brazil’

Thom Yorke – ‘Harrowdown Hill’

The Charlatans – ‘Blackened Blue Eyes’

Babyshambles – ‘Albion’

Embrace – ‘Nature’s Law’

Bloc Party – ‘So Here We Are’

Bedouin Soundclash – ‘When The Night Feels My Song’

Patrick Wolfe – ‘Accident & Emergency’

Peter, Bjorn & John – ‘Young Folks’

The Dears – ‘Ticket To Immortality’

Bell X1 – ‘Rocky Took A Lover’

Joy Zipper – ‘1’

Just Jack – ‘Writer’s Block’

The Cribs – ‘You’re Gonna Lose Us’

Milburn – ‘Send In The Boys’

Cord – ‘Sea Of Trouble’

Scott Matthews – ‘Elusive’

You May Like