Oxegen festival announces new line-up addition: NME

We’re hosting a stage at this year’s bash

NME has linked up with the Oxegen festival to present a stage at this year’s event.

The 2007 Irish festival, which takes place July 8 and 9 at Punchestown Racecourse, near Naas, County Kildare, will now feature the NME Stage.

“We’re delighted that NME have come on board Oxegen this year,” declared festival promoter Denis Desmond. “We are looking forward to a memorable weekend of music at Ireland’s ultimate music festival.”

NME editor Conor McNicholas was similarly pleased. “Oxegen is such a brilliant festival, and we at NME are excited to be part of such a massive event in Ireland,” he explained. “Oxegen‘s second stage is where it’s at for new music so that’s where we’ll be playing host. See you down the front!”

The NME Stage line up for July 8 is:

Richard Ashcroft



Dirty Pretty Things

We Are Scientists


Morning Runner

The Blizzards


Breaks Co Op

Meanwhile on the Main Stage that day the following are playing:

The Who

The Strokes

Arctic Monkeys


James Brown

The Magic Numbers

Damien Dempsey

Republic Of Loose

Sandi Thom

The Marshals

On July 9, the NME Stage line up for is:

Paul Weller


Pharrell Williams

The Zutons

The Kooks

The Feeling

The Cribs



While the Main Stage line up on the same day is as follows:

Red Hot Chili Peppers

Franz Ferdinand

Kaiser Chiefs



Mani Chao

Maximo Park

The festival, which sold out in 12 hours earlier this year, also features Primal Scream, The Futureheads, The Automatic and Sigur Ros among others across seven stages.

For the full line-up go to Oxegen.ie now.

NME meanwhile is offering the ultimate soundtrack to the summer with a festival CD, including The Ordinary Boys, Panic! At The Disco and Razorlight among others, which is free with this week’s issue (June 17) on newsstands now.