MSTRKRFT announce new album, ‘Operator’, share ‘Party Line’

The Canadian duo’s third full-length will be released in July

MSTRKRFT have announced that they will release a new album, titled ‘Operator’, on July 22. It will land via Last Gang Records and you can listen to ‘Party Line’ from it below.

The Canadian duo, made up of Death From Above 1979 bassist Jesse F. Keeler and producer Al-P, returned in March with their first song in five years in the shape of ‘Little Red Hen’, which will also feature on ‘Operator’.

The album is MSTRKRFT’s first full-length since 2009’s ‘Fist Of God’, after their third LP that was originally planned to drop in 2011 never surfaced.

Speaking about the new album, Jesse F. Keeler said: “The ‘Operator’ concept for us was essential in the creation of the music on this album, but I’m not sure what came first, the title or the idea. While browsing military related websites and blogs, mostly consisting of vets talking to each other like any civilian I suppose, I noticed repeated reference to something they called ‘operator culture’.

“It seemed to be something that was sometimes laughed at, sometimes caused disdain, but was referenced constantly and seemed to be understood by everyone. I came to believe the operator concept is one of detachment.

“In the comfort of our rehearsal space, we had been going through a similar phase of discovering detachment. As we had decided to work entirely with hardware, all our old drum machines and modular synth collection, we had begun to feel more like operators than musicians.”

The ‘Operator’ tracklist is as follows:

1. Wrong Glass Sir
2. Runaway
3. Little Red Hen
4. Priceless
5. Playing With Itself
6. Party Line
7. Death In The Gulf Stream
8. World Peace
9. Morning Of The Hunt
10. Go On Without Me