Today’s new releases: Modest Mouse, Will Butler of Arcade Fire and more

Plus new albums from Twin Shadow, The Veronicas and Marina And The Diamonds

Modest Mouse and Arcade Fire member Will Butler lead this week’s new releases.

‘Strangers To Ourselves’ is Modest Mouse’s new album and their first since 2007. The band have shared the songs ‘Strangers To Ourselves’, ‘Lampshades On Fire’, ‘Coyotes’, ‘The Ground Walks, With Time In A Box’ and ‘The Best Room’ in the lead up to its release.

‘Strangers To Ourselves’ was recorded at Ice Cream Party in Portland, and features backing vocals from The Shins’ James Mercer.

Meanwhile, Arcade Fire member Will Butler releases debut solo album ‘Policy’. The album was recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York and features Arcade Fire’s Jeremy Gara on drums.

Speaking to NME earlier this year the multi-instrumentalist said the decision to go solo cam about as a result of being asked to finish the score for Spike Jonze’s film Her, after his brother Win and his wife Régine Chassagne – who were originally scoring the film – announced they were having a baby. “[Solo work] was kind of forced on me; I feel like my name was suddenly out there,” he said.

Butler also discussed the material on his new album, revealing that “there’s a little more dumb humour than you find in Arcade Fire”. He added: “To me, it’s a bit like the world of Moby-Dick – you think of it as a serious work of American literature, but it starts off with this slapstick sequence and jokes about whale penises.”

Today also sees the release of new records from Twin Shadow, The Veronicas and Marina And The Diamonds while Tobias Jesso Jr releases his eagerly anticipated debut. The physical release of Björk’s ‘Vulnicura’ also comes out today, some two months after it was released digitally.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Bill Wells & Aiden Moffatt – ‘The Most Important Place On Earth’
Björk – ‘Vulnicura’
Black Crowes – ‘A Texan Tornado’
Chilly Gonzales – ‘Chambers’
Houndmouth – ‘Little Neon Limelight’
Marina And The Diamonds – ‘Froot’
Mark Knopfler – ‘Tracker’
Modest Mouse – ‘Strangers To Ourselves’
Sleeping With Sirens – ‘Madness’
Tobias Jesso Jr – ‘Goon’
Twin Shadow – ‘Eclipse’
The Veronicas – ‘The Veronicas’
Will Butler – ‘Policy’

Find definitive NME album reviews here.