George Ezra and Brian Eno & Karl Hyde lead new album releases (June 30)

Plus new releases from Poliça, Bellowhead, NONONO, Mark Kozelek, OOIOO and David Gray

George Ezra and Brian Eno & Karl Hyde lead this week’s list of new album releases (June 30).

Ezra releases his debut album, ‘Wanted On Voyage’, after his recent single ‘Budapest’ reached Number Four in the UK Singles Chart. The Hertford-raised singer-songwriter released his debut single ‘Did You Hear The Rain?’ in October 2013 and finished fifth in the BBC Sound Of 2014 poll. He plays a low-key gig on July 3 at Kingston-upon-Thames New Slang, before festival shows at T In The Park, Latitude, Boardmasters and V Festival.

Eno and Underworld singer Hyde’s album ‘High Life’ is the pair’s second collaboration, following just a month after their debut ‘Someday World’. Speaking about the new album, Eno said: “When ‘Someday World’ was finished I felt like we were still on a roll. I wasn’t ready to stop working and get into ‘promotional mode’ for that record. So I suggested we immediately start on another album, a different one, where we extended some of the ideas we’d started, and attempted some of the ideas we hadn’t.” The pair cited their influences as “the polyrhythmic music of Fela Kuti and funk” and “the repetitive minimalism of composers like Steve Reich and Philip Glass”.


Elsewhere, there are new albums and EPs from Poliça, Bellowhead, NONONO, Mark Kozelek, David Gray and OOIOO, as well as reissues by Pink Floyd, Monty Python and Bob Marley.

This week’s new album and EP releases:

Austin Mahone – ‘The Secret’
Bellowhead – ‘Revival’
Bob Marley & The Wailers – ‘Legend’ (30th Anniversary Edition)
Brian Eno & Karl Hyde – ‘High Life’
David Gray – ‘Mutineers’
George Ezra – ‘Wanted On Voyage’
Mark Kozelek – ‘Live At Biko’
Monty Python – ‘Monty Python Sings (Again)’
NONONO – ‘We Are Only What We Feel’
OOIOO – ‘Gamel’
Pink Floyd – ‘The Division Bell’ (20th Anniversary Edition)
Poliça – ‘Raw Exit EP’
Seether – ‘Isolate And Medicate’
Trey Songz – ‘Trigga’


Juice WRLD, 1998-2019 – the NME obituary

The Chicago rapper has died from a seizure at the age of 21

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts