Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Nick Zinner joins James Lavelle’s Meltdown line-up

Tom Vek also joins London festival bill with rare James Lavelle and DJ Shadow DJ set confirmed

Yeah Yeah Yeahs‘ guitarist Nick Zinner and Tom Vek have been added to the bill for James Lavelle’s Meltdown festival.

Zinner will present the UK premiere of ’41 Strings’ as part of the festival on June 20. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs musician plays guitar and conducts the work, which is made up of 41 acoustic and electric strings, as well as drums and synth.

The guitarist will be joined by his Yeah Yeah Yeahs bandmate Brian Chase, plus string arranger Gillian Rivers and a group of young players from the nearby Southbank Sinfonia.

Additionally, Tom Vek (pictured right) will present the first London outing of his new collaboration with Olga Bell from Dirty Projectors, while curator James Lavelle will reunite with DJ Shadow for a one-off DJ show at Fire in Vauxhall on June 14 – the first time they have DJed on the same bill since 1998. Lavelle’s UNKLE project will also play a one off show at the Royal Festival Hall with a number of special guests.

The festival will take place from June 13-22 at London’s Southbank Centre. Chrissie Hynde will play her first five show in five years at the event, as she releases her debut solo album this summer.

Neneh Cherry, ESG, Chrissie Hynde and Goldie were previously confirmed to appear at the Mo’ Wax founder’s festival. Also confirmed are Goldie and the Heritage Orchestra, who will play the electronic musician’s 1995 album ‘Timeless’. Mark Lanegan’s only European date will take place as part of Meltdown, while DJ Harvey, Grandmaster Flash, James Holden, Rosie Lowe, Glass Animals, Trentemøller, Jeff Mills and A Guy Called Gerald will also perform.