Damon Albarn uses unreleased solo material in new mix – listen

'Waves In Suyian' also features tracks by Erykah Badu, Matias Aguayo and Cambodian psych band Dengue Fever

Damon Albarn has shared a demo version of solo songs ‘Electric’ and ‘You and Me’ as part of a FACT Mix he has curated.

The free download can be found here and features the unreleased Albarn tracks alongside a selection of other material hand picked by the Blur frontman. The mix is titled ‘Waves In Suyian’ and was made in conjunction with Nigerian drummer Remi Kabaka and Suzi Winstanley, Albarn’s partner.

Alongside the solo material, Albarn’s mix also includes tracks by Erykah Badu, Matias Aguayo, Cambodian psych band Dengue Fever and West Indian soul group The Guinness Casanovas plus excerpts from film soundtracks and 2Pac’s classic ‘California Love.’

Damon Albarn releases solo album ‘Everyday Robots’ next month (April). The album was recorded last year at Albarn’s west London studio, 13, and is produced by Richard Russell of XL Recordings, with whom Albarn produced Bobby Womack’s ‘The Bravest Man In The Universe’. The album will be released on April 28.

Albarn will play a pair of London dates this year with his new live band The Heavy Seas, who comprise guitarist Seye, drummer Pauli The PSM, bassist Jeff Wootton and Mike Smith on keyboards.

Damon Albarn will play:

London Rivoli Ballroom (April 30)
London Queen Mary University Great Hall (May 1)

To check the availability of Damon Albarn tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS