Nick Cave and Warren Ellis scoring ‘Hell Or High Water’ film soundtrack

You can listen to ‘Comancheria’ and ‘Mama’s Room’ from it now

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis are scoring the soundtrack to Hell Or High Water, a film starring Jeff Bridges and directed by David Mackenzie. You can listen to ‘Comancheria’ and ‘Mama’s Room’ from it below.

The film will be released on August 12, with the original soundtrack landing via Milan Records on the same day. It features several pieces of music by Cave and Ellis, who have previously scored the likes of The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford and The Proposition together.

The Hell Or High Water soundtrack will also feature songs by Waylon Jennings, Townes Van Zandt, Chris Stapleton, and others. You can see the full tracklist underneath the film’s trailer below.


In a statement about Cave and Ellis’ music for the film, Hell Or High Water director Mackenzie said: “What I love about Nick and Warren’s film music is that it’s epic and expansive without being grandiose. For me as a filmmaker this hits a sweet spot where the score is able to have scale and emotion but not feel manipulative or overwhelming.”

Hell or High Water OST tracklist:
1 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Comancheria’
2 Townes Van Zandt ‘Dollar Bill Blues’
3 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Mama’s Room’
4 Ray Wylie Hubbard ‘Dust of the Chase’
5 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Texas Midlands’
6 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Robbery’
7 Waylon Jennings ‘You Ask Me To’
8 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Mountain Lion Mean’
9 Colter Wall ‘Sleeping on the Backtop’
10 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘From My Cold Dead Hands’
11 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Lord of the Plains’
12 Scott H. Biram ‘Blood, Sweat and Murder’
13 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Casino’
14 Nick Cave and Warren Ellis ‘Comancheria II’
15 Chris Stapleton ‘Outlaw State of Mind’