Shockwaves NME Awards 2008: Pete Doherty named Hero Of The Year

Babyshambles man wins the public vote

Pete Doherty has been crowned Hero Of The Year at the Shockwaves NME Awards tonight (February 28).

The other nominees in the Hero Of The Year award category were: Matt Bellamy, Noel Fielding, Ryan Jarman and Thom Yorke.

For all the awards coverage head to NME.COM/awards now. We have exclusive picture galleries, live webcams, minute-by-minute blogs straight from the ceremony and Big Gig and video interviews with the biggest names at the ceremony.

That’s just the beginning – the ceremony is being broadcast on E4 at 11pm (GMT) tonight (February 28), with highlights following tomorrow (29) on Channel 4 from 11.50pm.

Meanwhile, next week’s issue of NME – on UK newsstands from March 5 – will contain the ultimate coverage, interviews and photos from the 2008 Shockwaves NME Awards.