Jamie T wins Best Solo Artist at the Shockwaves NME Awards

He beats Jarvis Cocker and Thom Yorke

Jamie T has won Best Solo Artist at this year’s Shockwaves NME Awards held in London tonight (March 1).

The award was presented at tonight’s (March 1) ceremony at London’s Hammersmith Palais by cast members Mick Bailey and Hannah Murray from E4 show ’Skins’ .

Jamie T beat off competition from Jarvis Cocker, Thom Yorke, Lily Allen and Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.

On picking up his awards he delcared: “Thank you to all the fans that come to all the gigs all the time. Also, I don’t agree with NME on most things, but my favourite song is ‘White Man In Hammersmith Palais’, so good one.”

For more coverage from this year’s awards check our on site blogs:

News Vulture for a live run down of all the action

Too Much Information for behind-the-scenes gossip at this year awards.

For more on the awards go to NME.COM/Awards.

Meanwhile get next week’s special edition issue of NME out on UK newsstands from March 7 for the ultimate coverage of the Shockwaves NME Awards 2007.