Arctic Monkeys win Best DVD at the Shockwaves NME Awards

'Scummy Man' triumphs

Arctic Monkeys have won the Best DVD award at tonight’s (March 1) Shockwaves NME Awards for ’Scummy Man’.

The award was presented at the Hammersmith Palais in London by Franz Ferdinand pair Alex Kapranos and Nick McCarthy.

’Scummy Man’ beat off competition from:

Dirty Pretty Things – ‘Puffing On A Coffin Nail’

Foo Fighters – ‘Skin And Bones’

Maximo Park – ‘Found On Film’

My Chemical Romance – ‘Life On The Murder Scene’

Picking up the award, the band left ‘Scummy Man’ lead actor Danny Dyer to make their acceptance speech, simply delcaring: “I love my mum!”

For more coverage from this year’s awards check our on site blogs:

News Vulture for a live run down of all the action

Too Much Information for behind-the-scenes gossip at this year awards.

For more on the awards go to NME.COM/Awards.

Meanwhile get next week’s special edition issue of NME out on UK newsstands from March 7 for the ultimate coverage of the Shockwaves NME Awards 2007.