Hosts Simon Pegg and Nick Frost reveal the early triumphs…

GRAHAM COXON and ZANE LOWE are early winners at the SHOCKWAVES NME AWARDS 2005 (February 17) which have kicked off at LONDON’s HAMMERSMITH PALAIS.

In the first prize of the night Lowe won the Best Radio Show gong for his Radio 1 programme.

On receiving the trophy, he said: “I’m so proud to accept this award on behalf of everyone at Radio 1 and, of course, John Peel, without whom, none of you would be here tonight.”

Presented by kid’s TV presenters Dick and Dom, the award for Best Solo Artist went to Graham Coxon.

The guitarist came out on top from a shortlist also featuring Eminem, Morrissey, The Streets and Ian Brown.

From the stage Coxon said: “I am absolutely genuinely chuffed! I’ve been making some choices lately which obviously have turned out to be the right ones, so thank you very much.”

The ShockWaves NME Awards 2005 have kicked off so keep checking NME.COM for the latest winners as they are announced, including upcoming categories Best Band, Best Live Act, Best Track and Best New Band.