Shockwaves NME Awards 2008: Arctic Monkeys win Best Video Award

The video for 'Teddy Picker' earns Sheffield band the prize

Arctic Monkeys have won the Best Video award supported by NME TV at the Shockwaves NME Awards 2008 for the promo for their single ‘Teddy Picker’.

The video features the band performing an energetic version of the song live in the studio.

Receiving the award from presenters Lauren Laverne and Chris O’Dowd, the band said: “Thank you very much. Everyone appears to have woken up in the last five minutes, a bit of a hosepipe drought before. The first five minutes reminded me of a school assembly.


“Thanks very much for this, Roman Coppola was the one who directed this, so a big shout out to him.”

The other nominees for the Best Video award were Bloc Party (’Flux’), Justice (’D.A.N.C.E.’), Klaxons (’Golden Skans’) and My Chemical Romance (‘Teenagers’).

For all the awards coverage head to NME.COM/awards now. We have exclusive picture galleries, live webcams, minute-by-minute blogs straight from the ceremony and Big Gig and video interviews with the biggest names at the ceremony.

That’s just the beginning – the ceremony is being broadcast on E4 at 11pm (GMT) tonight (February 28), with highlights following tomorrow (29) on Channel 4 from 11.50pm.

Meanwhile, next week’s issue of NME – on UK newsstands from March 5 – will contain the ultimate coverage, interviews and photos from the 2008 Shockwaves NME Awards.


Kevin Smith: “I’m the world’s biggest Kevin Smith fan”

The beloved cult filmmaker reflects on an extraordinary career

The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s