Shockwaves NME Awards 2008: Arctic Monkeys win Best Track

'Fluorescent Adolescent' voted best song of the year

Arctic Monkeys have won the Best Track award supported by Trinity St at the Shockwaves NME Awards 2008 for their single, ‘Fluorescent Adolescent’.

Picking up the award from fellow Sheffield boy Richard Hawley, the band’s frontman Alex Turner was on top form.

He said:“We’re going to finish the speech we started at the Brits before we were cut off. We’d like to thank our manager Geoff Barradale.”

The other nominees for the Best Track award were Bloc Party (’Flux’, The Cribs (’Men’s Needs’), Oasis (’Lord Don’t Slow Me Down’) and The Wombats (‘Let’s Dance To Joy Division’).

For all the awards coverage head to NME.COM/awards now. We have exclusive picture galleries, live webcams, minute-by-minute blogs straight from the ceremony and Big Gig and video interviews with the biggest names at the ceremony.

That’s just the beginning – the ceremony is being broadcast on E4 at 11pm (GMT) tonight (February 28), with highlights following tomorrow (29) on Channel 4 from 11.50pm.

Meanwhile, next week’s issue of NME – on UK newsstands from March 5 – will contain the ultimate coverage, interviews and photos from the 2008 Shockwaves NME Awards.