Shockwaves NME Awards 2008: George W Bush named Villain Of The Year

US president marks final year in office with dubious award

US President George W Bush has been voted the Villain Of The Year at the Shockwaves NME Awards tonight (February 28).

The White House are yet to comment on the 43rd president’s award.

The other nominees in the Villain Of The Year award category were: Tony Blair, Johnny Borrell, Gordon Brown, George W Bush and Amy Winehouse.

For all the awards coverage head to NME.COM/awards now. We have exclusive picture galleries, live webcams, minute-by-minute blogs straight from the ceremony and Big Gig and video interviews with the biggest names at the ceremony.

That’s just the beginning – the ceremony is being broadcast on E4 at 11pm (GMT) tonight (February 28), with highlights following tomorrow (29) on Channel 4 from 11.50pm.

Meanwhile, next week’s issue of NME – on UK newsstands from March 5 – will contain the ultimate coverage, interviews and photos from the 2008 Shockwaves NME Awards.