'Rock Steady' will be out on December 10...

NO DOUBT have given NME.COM an exclusive first listen to their new album, ‘ROCK STEADY’.

The 12-track album, recorded in Jamaica and LA, is not released in the UK until December 10. A single, ‘Hey Baby’ is released on February 4 and is one of the album’s poppiest moments.

Singer Gwen Stefani’s collaboration with Eve on ‘Let Me Blow Ya Mind’ has clearly influenced the recording, which is marked by hip-hop beats and slick R&B production. The Neptunes-produced ‘Hellagood’ is one of the standout tracks, featuring the production team’s trademark hip-hop sound.

‘Waiting Around’, featuring Prince on vocals and production, is also a highlight. It starts off reminiscent of Leftfield, but by the time Prince comes in, it’s clear that the erratic singer has come up with a classic vocal. ‘Detective’, produced by Nellee Hooper, is a mid-paced pop song and one of the tracks most closely resembling their hit ‘Don’t Speak’. ‘Running’ is a sparse, electronic track again produced by Hooper, while the band return to their familiar ska sound on the Sly & Robbie produced ‘Underneath It All’.

William Orbit produced the string-laden, tuneful ‘Making Out’, but the Dr Dre-produced ‘Wicked Day’ is not likely to make it on to ‘Rock Steady’.