Oasis announce ‘Be Here Now’ reissue featuring unreleased tracks

Listen to Noel Gallagher's 2016 mix of 'D'You Know What I Mean?'

Oasis are set to reissue their third album, ‘Be Here Now’, along with unreleased tracks and other bonus features.

‘Be Here Now’ was originally released in August 1997, following on from the Manchester band’s 1994 debut album ‘Definitely Maybe’ and 1995 second LP ‘(What’s the Story) Morning Glory?’.

Following the re-releases of their first two albums, the ‘Be Here Now’ reissue will follow suit on October 7 via Big Brother Recordings. Pre-order here.

“I’ve tried to redo the whole album. I went into the studio and after about two days I was like, ‘this is missing the point, the album is supposed to be this fucking mental’,” Noel Gallagher explained.

“I went back to a couple of things I’d edited and though ‘nah, they sound fucking shit, they sound better when there’s no singing before three minutes’ [puts head back, inhales deeply through nose] so, y’know, you’re kind of digesting the cocaine before the singing starts. It is to be accompanied with a crate of beer and a bag of fucking charlie, and don’t be making any plans for the next couple of days. That’s the spirit in which it was intended. And if you listen to it in that spirit, it might be the greatest album of all time.”

The reissue will include B-sides, rare and unreleased Oasis tracks from the era, as well as Noel Gallagher’s 2016 mix of ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’. Listen to Noel Gallagher’s ‘NG’s 2016 Rethink’ mix of ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’ here or below.

Noel says of the remix: “As the years went by I’d started to accept that the songs on ‘Be Here Now’ were in fact insanely long… too long! Someone (I can’t remember who) had the idea that we re-visit, re-edit the entire album for posterity’s sake. We got as far as the first track before we couldn’t be arsed any more and gave up… It does sound fucking mega though!”


Officially titled ‘Be Here Now Chasing The Sun Edition’, the re-release comes in the following formats: Standard CD and digital download, Special Edition 3 x CD and deluxe digital download, 12″ vinyl LP with download code for two volumes of bonus content and Limited edition Super Deluxe Box Set – including LP, Special Edition 3 x CD, hardback coffee table book with new sleeve notes, exclusive vinyl plus a 12” white label sampler of the ‘Mustique demos’ (14 previously unreleased album demos recorded on the Caribbean Island in 1996), plus Oasis merchandise.

“They bring back memories of what turned out to be – if nothing else – a bloody awesome holiday!” Noel says of the demos.

The tracklisting is as follows:

Disc 1 – ‘Be Here Now’ Chasing The Sun Edition:
‘D’You Know What I Mean?’
‘My Big Mouth’
‘Magic Pie’
‘Stand By Me’
‘I Hope, I Think, I Know’
‘The Girl In The Dirty Shirt’
‘Fade In-Out’
‘Don’t Go Away’
‘Be Here Now’
‘All Around The World’
‘It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)’
‘All Around The World (Reprise)’

Disc 2 – B –sides & Extra Tracks:
‘Stay Young’
‘The Fame’
‘(I Got) The Fever’
‘My Sister Lover’
‘Going Nowhere’
‘Stand By Me’ (Live At Bonehead’s Outtake)
‘Untitled’ (Demo)
‘Help!’ (Live In LA)
‘Setting Sun’ (Live Radio Broadcast)
‘If We Shadows’ (Demo)
‘Don’t Go Away’ (Demo)
‘My Big Mouth’ (Live At Knebworth Park)
‘D’You Know What I Mean?’ (NG’s 2016 Rethink)

Disc 3 – Mustique Demos:
‘D’You Know What I Mean?’ (Mustique Demo)
‘My Big Mouth’ (Mustique Demo)
‘My Sister Lover’ (Mustique Demo)
‘Stand By Me’ (Mustique Demo)
‘I Hope, I Think, I Know’ (Mustique Demo)
‘The Girl In The Dirty Shirt’ (Mustique Demo)
‘Don’t Go Away’ (Mustique Demo)
‘Trip Inside (Be Here Now)’ (Mustique Demo)
‘Fade In-Out’ (Mustique Demo)
‘Stay Young’ (Mustique Demo)
‘Angel Child’ (Mustique Demo)
‘The Fame’ (Mustique Demo)
‘All Around The World’ (Mustique Demo)
‘It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)’ (Mustique Demo)