Oasis top the UK album chart

'Dig Out Your Soul' succeeds where single failed

Oasis have topped the chart with their new album ‘Dig Out Your Soul’ today (October 12).

The band successfully knocked Kings Of Leon off the top spot after two weeks at number one with their album ‘Only By The Night’.

Their album triumph comes one week after they failed to make number one with the lead single ‘The Shock Of The Lightning’, which entered at three.


This week, the single drops to 16, while Pink remains at number one for the third week with ‘So What’.

Elsewhere on the singles chart, Kaiser Chiefs have a new entry at number five with ‘Never Miss A Beat’.

The top ten UK singles this week are:

1. Pink – ‘So What’

2. Kings Of Leon – ‘Sex On Fire’

3. Sugababes – ‘Girls’


4. Rihanna – ‘Disturbia’

5. Kaiser Chiefs – ‘Never Miss A Beat’

6. Ne-Yo – ‘Miss Independent’

7. Katy Perry – ‘I Kissed A Girl’

8. Pussycat Dolls – ‘When I Grow Up’

9. Gym Class Heroes ft The Dream – ‘Cookie Jar’

10. Iglu & Hartly – ‘In This City’

The album chart is:

1. Oasis – ‘Dig Out Your Soul’

2. Kings Of Leon – ‘Only By The Night’

3. Will Young – ‘Let It Go’

4. Rihanna – ‘Good Girl Gone Bad’

5. James Morrison – ‘Songs For You, Truths For Me’

6. Ne-Yo – ‘Year Of The Gentleman’

7. Bette Midler – ‘The Best Bette’

8. Andrew Johnston – ‘One Voice’

9. Bob Dylan – ‘Tell Tale Signs – Bootleg Series Volume 8’

10. Duffy – ‘Rockferry’


General Election 2019: Conservatives declared winners after disastrous night for Labour

Jeremy Corbyn and Jo Swinson will both stand down as party leaders.

Edward Norton: “If you take your work seriously, it’s all-consuming”

The 'Fight Club' star on working with Thom Yorke, new film 'Motherless Brooklyn' and building a Hollywood legacy