And fans are quick to give NME.COM their reactions to the show in Lyon...

OASIS opened a new world tour in LYON, France last night (June 17) premiering a raft a new tracks from forthcoming new album ‘HEATHEN CHEMISTRY’.

The sell-out show at the 1,500 capacity Transbordeur venue saw the band play a 19-song set with seven tracks lifted from the new album – ‘The Hindu Times’, ‘Hung In A Bad Place’, ‘Stop Crying Your Heart Out’, ‘Little By Little’, ‘Born On A Different Cloud’, ‘Better Man’ and ‘Force Of Nature’.

The early leak of ‘Heathen Chemistry’ did not appear to have harmed Oasis. All the fans knew the lyrics to the new songs already and sang along throughout the show. Oasis, changing the set dramatically from their ‘Noise And Confusion’ tour of last autumn, also dusted down favourite standards including ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’ and ‘Morning Glory’. They closed the show with a cover of the The Who’s ‘My Generation’.


The stage-set was simple and muted. A backdrop featured the word ‘Exist’ printed in white. Liam wore a Beatles

T-shirt while Noel favoured a red polo shirt.

Support last night came from The Soundtrack Of Our Lives. It’s the second time Oasis have played the venue. In November 1994 they shared the bill, ironically, withBlur.

Oasis‘ return was greeted warmly by fans. “A great band performance,” Sylvain Chuzeville told NME.COM. “The boys looked healthy always nice to see them. Liam’s voice [was] really good, fresh and powerful.”

“There were moments, particularly during ‘Born on a Different Cloud’ where you could sense the momentary scent of greatness in the air. A fantastic feeling of the brooding, howling Rock’n’Roll monster that could devour all before it,” said Andrew Critchley.

Cario Clivio added: “[Liam] was in a brilliant mood, lots of jokes and many expressions with his body. He offered some chewing gum to someone and reminded her to share them with the others.”


>Oasis continue the tour tomorrow (June 19) at the Razzmatazz in Barcelona.

The set-list was as follows:

‘Fuckin’ In The Bushes’


‘The Hindu Times’

‘Hung In A Bad Place’

‘Stop Crying Your Heart Out’

‘Go Let It Out ‘


‘Morning Glory’

‘Little By Little’

‘D’You Know What I Mean?’

‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’

‘Live Forever’

‘Gas Panic!’

‘She’s Electric’

‘Born On A Different Cloud’

‘Better Man’


‘Force Of Nature’

‘Don’t Look Back In Anger’

‘My Generation’