Orbital are back with their first album in six years and new song ‘Tiny Foldable Cities’

'Monsters Exist' will be released later this year

Orbital have announced details of their first album in six years.

Brothers Phil and Paul Hartnoll formed the electronic duo in 1989. They broke up in 2004, before reuniting for five years in 2009. They got back together again last year for a series of live shows.

‘Monsters Exist’ will be released on September 14 via their own ACP label, and will be the pair’s first release since 2012’s ‘Wonky’. They have also shared the first track from it, called ‘Tiny Foldable Cities’, which comes with a music video directed by Felix Green that you can watch below.


In a statement, Paul Hartnoll said: “Because of the global situation, I was torn between writing a really aggressive Crass-type album that says, ‘Fuck the Man!’ or going back to rave sensibilities. You know, let’s really rebel by stepping away and actually living that alternative lifestyle.”

The tracklist for ‘Monsters Exist’ is as follows:

‘Monsters Exist’
‘Hoo Hoo Ha Ha’

‘The Raid’
‘Tiny Foldable Cities’
‘Buried Deep Within’
‘Vision One’
‘The End Is Nigh’
‘There Will Come A Time’ (feat. Brian Cox)

Orbital will perform at Radio 1’s The Biggest Weekend later this month, before embarking on a run of other festivals and their own dates.


Orbital will play:

Moscow, Bosco Fresh Festival (June 11)
London, Kenwood House (15)
Brighton, Brighton Racecourse (29)
Hull, Inner-city @ Zebedee’s Yard (30)
Lancashire, Beat-Herder Festival (July 13)
Barcelona, Festival CRUÏLLA (14)
Margate, Dreamland (28)

Bournemouth, Camp Bestival (29)
Amsterdam, Dekmantel Festival (August 3)