Original Meat Puppets line-up reunite for first album in 24 years

Kurt Cobain's favourite band are reuniting with the original line-up

Meat Puppets have announced the release of a new album and have revealed that their original line-up will reunite for the project.

The line-up, who last worked together on 1995’s ‘No Joke!’ album, will see original drummer Derrick Bostrom re-join brothers Chris and Curt Kirkwood. The band is also planning to tour in 2019 although no official dates have been announced as yet.

The new album will be called ‘Dusty Notes’ and will be released on March 8 via Megaforce. You can hear a new track from the album, ‘Warranty’ below.


The Kirkwood brothers have been recording music and touring since they both reunited in 2006, but this will be the first time in 24 years since the full original line-up has been in place.

The band’s last album was 2013’s ‘Rat Farm’. Reviewing the album, NME wrote: “Arizona’s Meat Puppets are habitually termed ‘survivors’…their reputation, briefly boosted by Kurt Cobain’s patronage in the ’90s, has stayed intact – rare for a band 33 years and 14 albums old.

“‘Rat Farm’ is a worthy addition to their legacy, with the Puppets’ stock moves – gently fried country-rock and psychedelia with Neil Young-worthy guitar solos – used to stirring effect. More laidback than their most feted, punk-derived early albums, this nevertheless compares favourably with the new [one] by Meat Puppets fans Milk Music.”

Originally formed in 1980, the band garnered widespread attention from their appearance on Nirvana’s 1993 ‘Unplugged In New York’ concert, where the grunge outfit played three Meat Puppets’ songs.

You May Like