Panic! At The Disco triumph at MTV awards

Fall Out Boy also pick up a prize

Panic! At The Disco have won the video of the year award at the MTV Video Music Awards for ’I Write Sins, Not Tragedies’.

When the band went onstage to collect the award last night (August 31) at Radio City Music Hall in New York, they were joined by a gatecrasher, leading singer Brendon Urie to comment: “He stole our thunder. But thank you very, very much. This is amazing.”

Meanwhile Fall Out Boy won the Viewers Choice award for ’Dance, Dance’.


Gnarls Barkley’s ’Crazy’ picked up the Best Direction and Best Editing awards.

The award pre-show saw My Chemical Romance debut their new single ’Welcome To The Black Parade’ surrounded by a childrens choir, while The Raconteurs and The Killers also performed at the ceremony.

The full winners are:

Video of the Year: Panic! at the Disco, ‘I Write Sins Not Tragedies’

Best Male Video: James Blunt, ‘You’re Beautiful

Best Female Video: Kelly Clarkson, ‘Because of You’


Best Group Video: The All-American Rejects, ‘Move Along’

Best Rap Video: Chamillionaire, ‘Ridin’

Best R&B Video: Beyoncé f/ Slim Thug, ‘Check on It’

Best Hip-Hop Video: Black Eyed Peas, ‘My Humps’

Best Dance Video: Pussycat Dolls f/ Snoop Dogg, ‘Buttons’

Best Rock Video: A.F.I., ‘Miss Murder’

Best Pop Video: Pink, ‘Stupid Girls’

Best New Artist in a Video: Avenged Sevenfold, ‘Bat Country’

Viewer’s Choice: Fall Out Boy, ‘Dance, Dance’

Best Direction in a Video: Gnarls Barkley, ‘Crazy’

Best Choreography in a Video: Shakira f/ Wyclef Jean, ‘Hips Don’t Lie’

Best Special Effects in a Video: Missy Elliott, ‘We Run This’

Best Art Direction in a Video: Red Hot Chili Peppers, ‘Dani California’

Best Editing in a Video: Gnarls Barkley, ‘Crazy’

Best Cinematography in a Video: James Blunt, ‘You’re Beautiful’

Ringtone of the Year: Fort Minor, ‘Where’d You Go’

Best Videogame Soundtrack: Marc Ecko’s Getting Up

Best Videogame Score: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Video Vanguard Award: Hype Williams