Today’s new album releases: Parquet Courts, Led Zeppelin reissues and more

Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, Paul Weller and James also have new LPs out today (June 2)

Parquet Courts lead today’s new album releases with new LP ‘Sunbathing Animal’ up against new albums by The Orwells (‘Disgraceland’) and Paul Weller’s ‘More Modern Classics’ compilation.

Further releases include Clean Bandit’s ‘New Eyes’, the debut solo album from The Walkmen’s Hamilton Leithauser, ‘Black Hours’, and the debut album by Teleman. Howling Bells return with fourth album, ‘Heartstrings’, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart release ‘Days Of Abandon’, The Phantom Band return with ‘Strange Friend’ and and the latest album by veteran indie band James, ‘La Petite Mort’, is also out now.

Also in shops today are the reissues of Led Zeppelin’s first three albums. Guitarist Jimmy Page has said that he decided to reissue the band’s first three albums to remind people what a “fucking good band” they were, telling NME in this week’s issue that he saw an opportunity to introduce a new generation of music fans to the songs. “I hope young musicians find it a source of inspiration,” Page says. “That’s how I learned, and that’s what’s so seductive about this nerdish thing. Led Zeppelin have real serious musical mastery and this is passing it on. It’s a cool thing to do.” Remastered by Page, the CD, vinyl and digital reissues each include previously unheard tracks.


This week’s new album releases:

50 Cent – ‘Animal Ambition: An Untamed Desire To Win’
Clean Bandit – ‘New Eyes’
Die Antwoord – ‘Donker Mag’
Ethan Johns – ‘The Reckoning’
Fatboy Slim – ‘Fatboy Slim Presents Bem Brasil’
Hamilton Leithauser – ‘Black Hours’
Howling Bells – ‘Heartstrings’
Incognito – ‘Amplified Soul’
James – ‘La Petite Mort’
Kyla La Grange – ‘Cut Your Teeth’
Led Zeppelin – ‘Led Zeppelin (Deluxe Edition)’
Led Zeppelin – ‘Led Zeppelin II (Deluxe Edition)’
Led Zeppelin – ‘Led Zeppelin III (Deluxe Edition)’
Me First and The Gimme Gimmes – ‘Are We Not Men? We Are Diva!’
Morrissey – ‘Vauxhall And I (20th Anniversary Definitive Master)’
Mostly Autumn – ‘Dressed In Voices’
Parquet Courts – ‘Sunbathing Animals’
Paul Weller – ‘More Modern Classics’
Pete Molinari – ‘Theosophy’
Peter Murphy – ‘Lion’
Soundgarden – ‘Superunknown (20th Anniversary Edition)’

Teleman – ‘Breakfast’
The Midnight Beast – ‘Shtick Heads’
The Orwells – ‘Disgraceland’
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – ‘Days Of Abandon’
The Phantom Band – ‘Strange Friend’