Patti Smith pays tribute to Amy Winehouse on new album ‘Banga’

Punk legend's 10th studio album will be released in June

Patti Smith has announced full details of her new studio album, which is to be titled ‘Banga’.

The album, which is the 10th of the punk singer’s career, will be released on June 4 in the UK and on June 5 in the United States. It is the singer’s first album since her 2007 covers record ‘Twelve’ and her first record of original material since 2004’s ‘Trampin’.

‘Banga’ was recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York City and has been produced by Smith and her backing band of Tony Shanahan, Jay Dee Daugherty and Lenny Kaye. Television frontman Tom Verlaine and the Smith’s son Jackson and daughter Jesse Paris appear as guests on the album.

The album’s fourth track ‘This Is The Girl’ has been written in tribute to Amy Winehouse, while second track ‘Fuji-san’ has been penned for the people of Japan in the wake of last year’s earthquake. The album’s track ‘Nine’ is also reportedly a birthday song for Johnny Depp.

Patti Smith will play three UK shows this summer in support of ‘Banga’. She will headline Wolverhampton’s Wulfrun Hall on June 25, Cardiff Coal Exchange on June 26 and Bath Forum on June 28.

The tracklisting for ‘Banga’ is as follows:

‘April Fool’
‘This Is The Girl’
‘Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)’
‘Constantine’s Dream’
‘After The Gold Rush’

To check the availability of Patti Smith tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.