Patti Smith, Roots, Moby for Southbank Meltdown festival

Plus Yoko Ono, Robert Wyatt and Yo La Tengo to play shows

Patti Smith, The Roots, Moby and Yoko Ono are among the acts set to play shows for the Meltdown gig series, set to take place at London‘s Southbank Centre in June.

Smith will be playing live with The Silver Mt Zion Memorial Orchestra, while Ono will play with her Plastic Ono band and will be joined by Sean Lennon and Cornelius.

Yo La Tengo and Robert Wyatt will also make appearances at gigs across the series.


The Meltdown line-up is:

The Roots with David Murray, Royal Festival Hall (June 13)
David Murray And The Gwo-Ka Masters, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Queen Elizabeth Hall (13)
Yoko Ono’s Plastic Ono Band (featuring Sean Lennon, Cornelius and more), Royal Festival Hall (14)
Baaba Maal, Royal Festival Hall (15)
The Freewheeling Yo La Tengo, Queen Elizabeth Hall (15)
Moby, Royal Festival Hall (16)
Bobby McFerrin, Royal Festival Hall (17)
Patti Smith and The Silver Mt Zion Memorial Orchestra, Royal Festival Hall (18)
Ornette Coleman: Reflections Of The Shape Of Jazz To Come, Master Musicians Of Jajouka, Royal Festival Hall (19)
Charlie Haden: Liberation Music Orchestra (with guests Carla Bley and Robert Wyatt), The Bad Plus, Royal Festival Hall (20)
Ornette Coleman: Reflections Of This Is Our Music, Master Musicians of Jajouka, Royal Festival Hall (21)

Tickets go on sale on Friday (May 1) at 10am (BST).

To check the availability of Meltdown tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/GIGS now, or call 0871 230 1094.


Juice WRLD, 1998-2019 – the NME obituary

The Chicago rapper has died from a seizure at the age of 21

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts