Paul McCartney reveals reason for calling new album ‘Kisses On The Bottom’

The former Beatles man also unveils the record's tracklisting and artwork

Paul McCartney has explained why he has called his forthcoming new album ‘Kisses On The Bottom’.

Set for release on February 6, McCartney’s new solo album has taken its name from the lyrics in jazz man Fats Waller‘s 1935 hit ‘I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter’, which McCartney covers on the album. The lyric in question is:

I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter and make believe it came from you/I’m gonna write words oh so sweet/They’re gonna knock me off of my feet/A lot of kisses on the bottom/I’ll be glad I got ‘em.

The album has been recorded with producer Tommy LiPuma, Diana Krall and her band and also features appearances from Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder.

‘Kisses On The Bottom’ is made up of songs McCartney listened to as a child as well as two new songs, ‘My Valentine’ and ‘Only Our Hearts’.

The ‘Kisses On The Bottom’ tracklisting is:

‘I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter’
‘Home (When Shadows Fall)’
‘It’s Only A Paper Moon’
‘More I Cannot Wish You’
‘The Glory Of Love’
‘We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)’
‘Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive’
‘My Valentine’
‘My Very Good Friend The Milkman’
‘Bye Bye Blackbird’
‘Get Yourself Another Fool’
‘The Inch Worm’
‘Only Our Hearts’

The album artwork – pictured above – was shot by McCartney’s daughter, photographer Mary McCartney.