Paul Simon chooses tracklisting for his new ‘Songwriter’ collection

A host of remastered versions of his classic albums are also set for release

Paul Simon has personally chosen the tracks which will appear on ‘Songwriter’, a new two disc collection of his songs, which spans the past five decades.

Released October 24 – 11 days after Simon turns 70 – ‘Songwriter’ encompasses the former Simon and Garfunkel man’s lesser known works as well as his more mainstream hits, including a live version of ‘The Sound of Silence’ recorded at New York Webster Hall earlier this year and Aretha Franklin’s cover of ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’.

Explaining the title of the collection, Simon said:

I think of myself as a songwriter first, the recording artist and performer in me follow in the writer’s footsteps.


Classic Editions of Paul Simon’s ‘One-Trick Pony’ (1980), ‘Hearts and Bones’ (1983), ‘Graceland’ (1986) and ‘The Rhythm Of The Saints’ (1990), will also be released on October 24. These remastered editions will feature bonus tracks.

The ‘Songwriter’ tracklisting is:

Disc 1
‘The Sound Of Silence’ Live at Webster Hall
‘The Boxer’ Live at Central Park
‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ Aretha Franklin
‘Mother And Child Reunion’
‘Peace Like A River’
‘American Tune’
‘Something So Right’
‘Late In The Evening’
‘Train In The Distance’
‘Hearts And Bones’
‘Rene And Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After The War’
‘Still Crazy After All These Years’
‘Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes’
‘The Boy In The Bubble’

Disc 2
‘Obvious Child’
‘Further To Fly’
‘The Cool, Cool River’
‘Spirit Voices’
‘Born In Puerto Rico’
‘Darling Lorraine’
‘Look At That’
‘Senorita With A Necklace Of Tears’
‘That’s Me’
‘Another Galaxy’
‘Father And Daughter’
‘Love And Hard Times’
‘So Beautiful Or So What’