Paul Weller’s ‘Wake Up The Nation’ wins Uncut Music Award 2010

He beats Arcade Fire, Beach House, Joanna Newsom and Gorillaz to title

Paul Weller‘s ‘Wake Up the Nation’ album has won the Uncut Music Award 2010.

The former Jam man won the title, awarded by NME‘s sister magazine Uncut, ahead of seven other shortlisted acts’ albums including Beach House‘s ‘Teen Dream’, Arcade Fire‘s ‘The Suburbs’ and Gorillaz‘Plastic Beach’.

Voting for the award was chaired by Uncut editor Allan Jones, with the 10-strong judging panel including Wild BeastsHayden Thorpe, Fleet FoxesRobin Pecknold, Roxy Music‘s Phil Manzanera and Chris Difford of Squeeze.

“I’m well surprised to get this award,” Weller said. “Pleasantly surprised. A lot of the credit goes to Simon Dine [producer and co-writer on the album]. The album came from him, really. He had these very rough backing track ideas, which he sent me. Once I heard them, I got excited too. I could see a whole new sound emerging out of them.”

The Uncut Music Award 2010 shortlist was:

Arcade Fire – ‘The Suburbs’
Beach House – ‘Teen Dream’
The Coral – ‘Butterfly House’
Deer Tick – ‘The Black Dirt Sessions’
The Gaslight Anthem – ‘American Slang’
Gorillaz – ‘Plastic Beach’
Joanna Newsom – ‘Have One On Me’
Paul Weller – ‘Wake Up The Nation’

Read more about the award at