Pearl Jam to release eighth studio album

It will be out on May Day

Pearl Jam have confirmed they will release their eighth studio album on May 1.

Produced by Adam Kasper, best known for his work with Soundgarden, the self-titled LP was recorded in Seattle and follows 2002’s ‘Riot Act’.

Describing the album, guitarist Stone Gossard said: “A couple of rock songs, a couple of ballads – it’s not rocket science.”

However, he told Rolling Stone that his hopes are high for the release adding: “It feels like a new opportunity for us. We’re proud of the songs, and we think they have a chance to do a little better commercially.”

‘Pearl Jam’ has seen the band collaborate together more than any of their previous albums, with each member receiving writing credits.

Guitarist Mike McCready has contributed his first set of lyrics to the LP’s closing track ‘Inside Job’, while Gossard has penned two songs – ‘Parachutes’ and ‘Life Wasted’.

The first single to be lifted from ‘Pearl Jam’ will be singer Eddie Vedder’s ‘World Wide Suicide’, and will be available as a free download on March 8 through the band’s website

Gossard has described the track as “very punky and Who-ish”. The tracklisting for the album is:

‘Life Wasted’

‘World Wide Suicide’


‘Severed Hand’

‘Marker In The Sand’



‘Big Wave’


‘Wasted Reprise’

‘Army Reserve’

‘Come Back’

‘Inside Job’

Pearl Jam are set to hit the road for a world tour this spring, with details to be announced later this month.