Pete Doherty names solo album – exclusive

Babyshambles man gets ready for March release

Pete Doherty has revealed the title of his forthcoming solo album.

The record, which is now set to be released on March 16, is called ‘Grace/Wastelands’. A single, ‘Last Of The English Roses’, is released on March 9.

‘Grace/Wastelands’ features guest appearances from Blur‘s Graham Coxon, Dot Allison and Doherty‘s Babyshambles bandmates.

Speaking of Coxon‘s involvement, Doherty said in a statement: “I remember when I was about 15 and still listened to Pet Shop Boys and Chas & Dave, and some lad at school who was a bit of a mod lent me a Blur tape and it had on it a song called ‘Bank Holiday. I was like, ‘What’s this?’ I said to him, ‘I liked that tape but that one song, it’s a bit fast.’ And he said, ‘Yeah, it’s punk. It depends what mood you’re in.’

“And then something sort of clicked in me. I’ve always liked Coxon, it seems, and I don’t know why.”

He added: “I was absolutely horrified when he said he was actually a fan of some of the things I’ve done.”

The tracklisting of Pete Doherty‘s solo album is:


‘Last Of The English Roses’

‘1939 Returning’

‘A Little Death Around The Eyes’


‘Through The Looking Glass’

‘Sweet By And By’

‘Palace Of Bone’

‘Sheepskin Tearaway’

‘Broken Love Song’

‘New Love Grows On Trees’

‘Lady, Don’t Fall Backwards’

To read our exclusive track-by-track guide to the album, head over to the NME Office Blog.