Peter Doherty & The Puta Madres announce debut album and share new single

Introducing the Puta Madres...

Peter Doherty has unveiled his new band The Puta Madres and announced details of their debut album, which is set for release later this year.

The latest record from the Libertines frontman is described as “a devastatingly intimate portrait of love, loss and being lost” and was recorded in a French fishing village across four consecutive days last summer.

Set for release on April 26, the debut sees Doherty and his new bandmates heading back to his garage rock roots for a selection of eclectic songs that have all been road-tested over the last 18 months.


The first track to emerge from the band is the upbeat ‘Who’s Been Having You Over’, which can be listened to in full below.

The track-listing can also be seen below, while pre-orders are available here.

  • All At Sea
  • Who’s Been Having You Over
  • Paradise Is Under Your Nose
  • Narcissistic Teen Makes First XI
  • Someone Else To Be
  • The Steam
  • Travelling Tinker
  • Lamentable Ballad of Gascony Avenue
  • A Fool There Was
  • Shoreleave
  • Punk Buck Bonafide

Next month, Peter and the Puta Madres will also head out on their debut UK tour – the full details of which can be viewed below. The band sees Doherty joined by Miggles (bass), Miki Beavis (violin), Katia DeVidas (Piano/keyboards), Jack Jones (lead guitar) and Rafa (drums).

The official confirmation of new music comes after Doherty teased that new music was on the way late last week.


Posting on Instagram, he shared a clip that saw him playing with a band in what appeared to be a DIY studio setup. The band also appeared to be playing a slow lethargic & psychedelic sound – which is now revealed to be the intro to ‘Who’s Been Having You Over.’

Meanwhile, The Libertines have been working on building their own studio at their Margate hotel, The Albion Rooms.

Doherty’s bandmate Carl Barât gave an update on the band’s new material last summer, saying he had “lots of ideas” for the follow-up to 2015’s ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’.