Peter Gabriel announces first ‘song swap’ release details

Singer's cover of The Magnetic Fields' 'The Book of Love' will be released on January 30

Peter Gabriel has announced details of the first pair of his “song swaps” he is planning to release.

Taken from Gabriel’s soon to be released covers album, ‘Scratch My Back’, Gabriel‘s version of The Magnetic Fields‘s ‘The Book of Love’ is due out on January 30 via iTunes.

In return and in the spirit of the swap, The Magnetic FieldsStephin Merritt has covered Gabriel‘s 2004 song ‘Not One Of Us’, which will be released with Gabriel‘s cover on January 30.


The album, which also features covers including Radiohead‘s ‘Street Spirit (Fade Out)’, Elbow‘s ‘Mirrorball’ and Regina Spektor‘s ‘Apres Moi’, will be released on January 25.

Meanwhile Gabriel is set to play two ‘covers’ shows at London‘s O2 Arena on March 27 and 28.

To check the availability of Peter Gabriel tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230