Pink Floyd announce second batch of vinyl reissues

Next month sees three 1970s albums available again

Pink Floyd have announced the reissue of three of their 1970s albums on vinyl.

The reissues are the second batch of Pink Floyd albums to be available again on vinyl, after the band’s first four albums were re-released in June.

The latest run of vinyl sees ‘Atom Heart Mother’, ‘Meddle’ and ‘Obscured By Clouds’ reissued on heavyweight 180g vinyl on September 23.


‘Atom Heart Mother’, released in 1970, was Pink Floyd’s first No 1 album. It was recorded in the wake of their troubled time making the soundtrack for the film ‘Zabriskie Point’ and has since been criticised by Roger Waters and David Gilmour. The first side is the six-song ‘Atom Heart Mother’ suite, while side two features the single ‘Summer 68’ and the three-song ‘Alan’s Psychedelic Breakfast’ suite.

Recorded during a break from touring ‘Atom Heart Mother’, the experimental ‘Meddle’ was released in 1971. Less psychedelic than the band had previously been known for, ‘Meddle’ features the 23-minute song ‘Echoes’ as the whole of side two. ‘Fearless’ features a sample of Liverpool fans singing ‘You’ll Never Walk Alone’.

‘Obscured By Clouds’ was Pink Floyd’s first full soundtrack since ‘More’ in 1969. It’s the soundtrack to director Barbet Schroeder’s French film La Vallee. It was originally released as a separate album in 1972.

All of Pink Floyd’s albums are due to be reissued eventually. Before the new batch of albums are released, August 26 sees ‘The Wall’ and ‘The Division Bell’ become available again on vinyl too.