Pink Floyd’s Dave Gilmour says new album is ‘evocative and emotional’

The album is a tribute to multi-instrumentalist Rick Wright, who died in 2008

Pink Floyd have said that their new album is an “emotional” and “evocative” record.

The band will release the album – their first since 1994’s ‘The Division Bell’ – on November 10. The LP will include music recorded with multi-instrumentalist Richard Wright, who died in 2008 aged 65.

Speaking in the new issue of Uncut, which is available now, singer Dave Gilmour says the album came from music the band recorded for ‘The Division Bell’. “When we finished ‘The Division Bell’ sessions, we had many pieces of music, only nine of which had become songs on the LP,” he says. “Now with Rick gone and without the chance of ever doing it again, it feels right these revisited tracks tracks should be made available as part of our repertoire.”


PHOTOS: 50 Wonderful Facts About Pink Floyd

“It is a tribute to him,” Gilmour adds. “I mean, to me, it’s very evocative and emotional in a lot of moments. And listening to all the stuff made me regret his passing all over again. This is the last chance someone will get to hear him playing along with us on that way he did.”

The record will not feature original Pink Floyd bassist Roger Waters, who left the band in 1985. Speaking last year, drummer Nick Mason revealed that he would be interested in a full band reunion, but was not certain it will ever materialise.

‘The Endless River’ tracklisting is:

‘Things Left Unsaid’
‘It’s What We Do’
‘Ebb And Flow’
‘The Lost Art Of Conversation’
‘On Noodle Street’
‘Night Light’
‘Allons-y (1)’
‘Allons-y (2)’
‘Talkin’ Hawkin”
‘Eyes To Pearls’
‘Louder Than Words’

You May Like